Decision details

Leader's Announcements

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


Prior to the commencement of the meeting, details of those Members appointed by the Leader to the Cabinet and their relevant portfolios had been circulated, together with an updated Scheme of Delegation for the discharge of the Executive functions of the Council.


The Leader took the opportunity to congratulate Councillor Stephen Coleman in his new role as Chairman of the Council.  He expressed heartfelt thanks to Councillor Eric Morrell for his time as Chairman and looked forward to working with him in his new role as a Member of the Cabinet.  He also thanked Councillor Ben Berry, who had stepped down as Leader of the Opposition, for his service.  He welcomed new Members to the Council, reminding them that he was Leader of the whole Council and that he looked forward with all Members on projects of importance throughout the District.  The Leader also welcomed Councillor Tom Harvey as new Leader of the main Opposition Group and offered him the opportunity for regular informal meetings in which to discuss matters of mutual interest.


The Leader introduced the Members of the Cabinet, providing details of the remit of their individual portfolios, as set out in Appendix 1 to these minutes.  In so doing, he expressed appreciation for the work carried out by former Cabinet Member Philip Dixon, who had stood down from his role as a Portfolio Holder.


In introducing the Members of the Cabinet, the Leader further stressed the particular need for the Council to address the issues of poverty, climate change and biodiversity loss.




(1)        it be noted that the Leader


(a)        has confirmed the following Cabinet portfolios and appointments:-


(i)         Climate Emergency and Localism Portfolio – Councillor Dyan Jones;


(ii)        Customer and Commercial Services and People Portfolio – Councillor Eric Morrell;


(iii)       Economy, Culture and Leisure Portfolio – Councillor Robin Ashcroft;


(iv)       Finance and Resources Portfolio – Councillor Andrew Jarvis;


(v)        Health, Wellbeing and Financial Resilience Portfolio – Councillor Suzie Pye;


(vi)       Housing and Innovation Portfolio – Councillor Johnathan Brook; and


(vii)      Promoting South Lakeland Portfolio – Councillor Giles Archibald; and


(b)        has re-appointed Councillor Jonathan Brook as Deputy Leader; and


(2)        the report from the Leader on the Scheme of Delegation for the discharge of the Executive functions of the Council, circulated at the meeting and attached as an Appendix to these minutes, be received.

Publication date: 07/06/2019

Date of decision: 21/05/2019

Decided at meeting: 21/05/2019 - Council

Accompanying Documents: