Your Councillors by Ward

Local councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Residents can contact their local councillor if they have an enquiry or a problem, even if it is not directly relating to SLDC. They may be able to answer the enquiry directly or point you in the right direction. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

South Lakeland District Council currently has 51 councillors representing 18 wards.

Party Number of councillors
Conservative 19
Labour 3
Liberal Democrats 28
Vacancy 1
Total 51

Please note that, following the local elections in May 2018, the 45 previous wards have been replaced by 18 new wards, each represented by two or three councillors. If you would like more information about how the ward changes affect your area, please contact Electoral Services.

 Ambleside & Grasmere

 Arnside & Milnthorpe

 Bowness & Levens

 Broughton & Coniston

 Burton & Crooklands


 Furness Peninsula


 Kendal East

 Kendal North

 Kendal Rural

 Kendal South & Natland

  • link to details of Cllr Jonathan Brook
    Cllr Jonathan Brook

    Kendal South & Natland

    Liberal Democrats

    Deputy Leader and Housing, People and Innovation Portfolio Holder

  • link to details of Cllr Chris Hogg
    Cllr Chris Hogg

    Kendal South & Natland

    Liberal Democrats

    Culture and Leisure Portfolio Holder

  • link to details of Cllr Doug Rathbone
    Cllr Doug Rathbone

    Kendal South & Natland

    Liberal Democrats

 Kendal Town

 Kendal West

 Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale

 Ulverston East

 Ulverston West