Decision details

Standards Committee

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


The now Monitoring Officer informed Council that at C/10 (2022/23), two ungrouped Members had been appointed to committees, namely Councillor Hanlon, Independent Member, to the Standards Committee and Councillor Judy Filmore, Green Party Member, to the Planning Committee.  Councillor Hanlon had recently requested to be removed from the Standards Committee and, in accordance with legislation, Councillor Filmore had been asked, although was unable to accept, the vacant seat on the Standards Committee.  The appointment, therefore, fell to Council to determine, with the available options being to agree to leave the seat on the Standards Committee vacant or to receive nominations and, upon a vote, appoint another Member to the position.  The report indicated that there was one further meeting of that Standards Committee scheduled to be held prior to 31 March 2023.


Councillor Tom Harvey moved recommendation (1) in the report, to accept the resignation of Councillor Hanlon and approve her removal from the Standards Committee and was seconded by Councillor Jonathan Brook, Leader and Promoting South Lakeland and Innovation Portfolio Holder.  Councillor Tom Harvey, seconded by Councillor Janette Jenkinson, proposed Councillor Kevin Lancaster as replacement Member to serve on the Standards Committee.  Councillor Jonathan Brook  proposed Councillor Janet Willis and was seconded by Councillor Robin Ashcroft, Economy, Culture and Leisure Portfolio Holder.


Votes having being taken on both motions, it was




(1)        the resignation of Councillor Fiona Hanlon be accepted and removal of Councillor Hanlon from the Standards Committee be approved, with immediate effect; and


(2)        Councillor Janet Willis be appointed as replacement Member to serve on the Standards Committee, also with immediate effect.

Publication date: 12/01/2023

Date of decision: 01/11/2022

Decided at meeting: 01/11/2022 - Council

Accompanying Documents: