Your Councillors by Ward

Local councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Residents can contact their local councillor if they have an enquiry or a problem, even if it is not directly relating to SLDC. They may be able to answer the enquiry directly or point you in the right direction. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

South Lakeland District Council has 51 councillors representing 18 wards.

Party Number of councillors
Conservative 14
Labour 3
Liberal Democrats 33
Green Party 1

If you would like any further information please contact Electoral Services.

 Ambleside & Grasmere

 Arnside & Milnthorpe

 Bowness & Levens

 Broughton & Coniston

 Burton & Crooklands

  • Cllr Roger Bingham

    Burton & Crooklands


    Shadow Cabinet (Economy, Culture and Leisure Portfolio)

  • Cllr Brian Cooper

    Burton & Crooklands


  • Cllr Tom Harvey

    Burton & Crooklands


    Shadow Cabinet Leader (Promoting South Lakeland and Innovation Portfolio)


 Furness Peninsula


 Kendal East

 Kendal North

 Kendal Rural

 Kendal South & Natland

 Kendal Town

 Kendal West

 Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale

 Ulverston East

 Ulverston West