Your Councillors by Ward

Local councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Residents can contact their local councillor if they have an enquiry or a problem, even if it is not directly relating to SLDC. They may be able to answer the enquiry directly or point you in the right direction. Councillors have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

South Lakeland District Council has 51 councillors representing 18 wards.

Party Number of councillors
Conservative 14
Labour 3
Liberal Democrats 32
Green Party 1
Vacancy 1

If you would like any further information please contact Electoral Services.

Councillor by Ward
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Cllr Vicky Hughes

Cllr Vicky Hughes

Burtlands, Station Lane, Burton-In-Kendal, Cumbria, LA6 1HR

Work mobile: 07887 460101

Home mobile: 07960 590531

Work: vicky.hughes@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ambleside & Grasmere
photo of Cllr Malcolm Lamb

Cllr Malcolm Lamb

South View, Chapel Stile, AMBLESIDE, Cumbria, LA22 9JJ

Home: 015394 37120

Work: Malcolm.Lamb@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Ambleside & Grasmere
photo of Cllr Rupert Audland

Cllr Rupert Audland

The Old House, Ackenthwaite, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7DH

Home mobile: 07754 153463

Liberal Democrats Arnside & Milnthorpe
photo of Cllr Helen Chaffey

Cllr Helen Chaffey

Housing Portfolio Holder

6 Ashmeadow Road, Arnside, CARNFORTH, Lancs., LA5 0AE

Home mobile: 07496 751727

Work: Helen.Chaffey@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Arnside & Milnthorpe
photo of Cllr Pete McSweeney

Cllr Pete McSweeney

Chairman of the Council

139 Silverdale Road, Arnside, Carnforth, Lancashire, LA5 0ER

Home: 01524 761113

Work: pete.mcsweeney@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Arnside & Milnthorpe
photo of Cllr John Holmes

Cllr John Holmes

Shadow Cabinet Deputy Leader (Finance and Assets Portfolio)

Tower Hill, Crosthwaite, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 8HX

Home: 015395 68599

Home mobile: 07766 774326

Work: john.holmes@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Bowness & Levens
photo of Cllr Kevin Holmes

Cllr Kevin Holmes

Shadow Cabinet (Climate Action and Biodiversity Portfolio)

Field Place, Levens, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 8EJ

Home mobile: 07773 453548

Work: kevin.holmes@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Bowness & Levens
photo of Cllr Brian Rendell

Cllr Brian Rendell

2 Milestone Cottage, Leasgill, MILNTHORPE, Cumbria, LA7 7EX

Home: 015395 64051

Home mobile: 07714 067060

Work: Brian.Rendell@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Bowness & Levens
photo of Cllr Tracy Coward

Cllr Tracy Coward

2 Kirkbeck, Coniston, Cumbria, LA21 8EL

Home: 015394 49046

Work: tracy.coward@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Broughton & Coniston
photo of Cllr Heather Troughton

Cllr Heather Troughton

1 Little Moss Close, Coniston, LA21 8HS

Home mobile: 07837485699

Work: heather.troughton@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Broughton & Coniston
photo of Cllr Ian Wharton

Cllr Ian Wharton

Roburn Cottage, 2 High Street, Penny Bridge, ULVERSTON, Cumbria, LA12 7RN

Home mobile: 07778 430926

Work: Ian.Wharton@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Broughton & Coniston
photo of Cllr Roger Bingham

Cllr Roger Bingham

Shadow Cabinet (Economy, Culture and Leisure Portfolio)

The Smithy, Ackenthwaite, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7DH

Home: 015395 63694

Conservative Burton & Crooklands
photo of Cllr Brian Cooper

Cllr Brian Cooper

Willow Tree Barn, Brigsteer, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 8AR

Home: 015395 84991

Work: brian.cooper@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Burton & Crooklands
photo of Cllr Tom Harvey

Cllr Tom Harvey

Shadow Cabinet Leader (Promoting South Lakeland and Innovation Portfolio)

Clocktower, 20 Beetham Road, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7QR

Home mobile: 07769 705307

Conservative Burton & Crooklands
photo of Cllr Michael Cornah

Cllr Michael Cornah

Martindale Cottage, Ayside, Grange-over-Sands, Cumbria, LA11 6HY

Home: 015395 31215

Home mobile: 07973 133142

Conservative Cartmel
photo of Cllr Gill Gardner

Cllr Gill Gardner

17 The Gardens, Winder Lane, Flookburgh, Grange-over-Sands, Cumbria, LA11 7LE

Home: 015395 59461

Home mobile: 07922 889377

Work: gill.gardner@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Cartmel
photo of Cllr Caroline Airey

Cllr Caroline Airey

5 Reeds Gardens, Little Urswick, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 0US

Home: 01229 868088

Conservative Furness Peninsula
photo of Cllr Ben Thomas Cooper

Cllr Ben Thomas Cooper

11 Ellis Wood, Penny Bridge, Ulverston, LA12 7QU

Home: 07437345343

Work: Ben.Cooper@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Furness Peninsula
photo of Cllr Janet Willis

Cllr Janet Willis

Post Office, Main Street, Greenodd, ULVERSTON, Cumbria, LA12 7RB

Home mobile: 07976 763067

Work: janet.willis@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Furness Peninsula
photo of Cllr Robin Ashcroft

Cllr Robin Ashcroft

Economy, Culture and Leisure Portfolio Holder

Home mobile: 07527 935798

Work: robin.ashcroft@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Grange
photo of Cllr Pete Endsor

Cllr Pete Endsor

Birchleigh Guest House, Kents Bank Road, Grange-over-Sands, LA11 7EY

Home: 01539532592

Work: Pete.Endsor@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Grange
photo of Cllr Fiona Marguerite Hanlon

Cllr Fiona Marguerite Hanlon

17 Cedrick Walk, Park Road, Grange-over-Sands, LA11 7DG

Home mobile: 07753 202888

Liberal Democrats Grange
photo of Cllr Eamonn Hennessy

Cllr Eamonn Hennessy

12 Long Close, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 5LZ

Home mobile: 07368 821102

Work: eamonn.hennessy@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal East
photo of Cllr Rachael Hogg

Cllr Rachael Hogg

4 Valley Drive, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7AG

Home: 07980121854

Work: rachael.hogg@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal East
photo of Cllr Helen Ladhams

Cllr Helen Ladhams

2 High Cragg Close, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 6HN

Home mobile: 07973 481701

Work: helen.ladhams@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal East
photo of Cllr Stephen Coleman

Cllr Stephen Coleman

47 Laurel Gardens, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 6FE

Home: 01539 729049

Home mobile: 07579 217185

Work: stephen.coleman@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal North
photo of Cllr Pat Bell

Cllr Pat Bell

Shadow Cabinet (Housing Portfolio)

Fairthorns, New Hutton, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 0AU

Home: 01539 721255

Home mobile: 07766 971279

Work: pat.bell@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Kendal Rural
photo of Cllr Hazel Hodgson

Cllr Hazel Hodgson

Low Garths, Beehive Lane, Old Hutton, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 0LT

Home: 01539 720566

Work: hazel.hodgson@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal Rural
photo of Cllr Ali Jama

Cllr Ali Jama

69 Hall Park, Burneside, Kendal, LA9 6RE

Home: 07943 039645

Work mobile: 07917 626503

Work: Ali.Jama@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal Rural
photo of Cllr Jonathan Brook

Cllr Jonathan Brook

Leader and Promoting South Lakeland and Innovation Portfolio Holder

87 Hayclose Road, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7NF

Home: 01539 722540

Work: j.brook@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal South & Natland
photo of Cllr Chris Hogg

Cllr Chris Hogg

4 Valley Drive, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7AG

Home: 01539 583759

Work: chris.hogg@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal South & Natland
photo of Cllr Doug Rathbone

Cllr Doug Rathbone

Raysholme, Oxenholme Road, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7HG

Home mobile: 07505 503965

Work: doug.rathbone@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal South & Natland
photo of Cllr Giles Archibald

Cllr Giles Archibald

35 Greenside, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 5DU

Home: 01539 731672

Home mobile: 07415000765

Work: g.archibald@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal Town
photo of Cllr Philip Dixon

Cllr Philip Dixon

Customer and Locality Services Portfolio Holder

Rectory Farm, Glebe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 3GZ

Home: 01539 422516

Home mobile: 07833 083848

Home: p.dixon@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal Town
photo of Cllr Peter Thornton

Cllr Peter Thornton

Ubarrow Hall, Longsleddale, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 9BB

Home: 01539 823640

Work: p.thornton@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal Town
photo of Cllr Alvin Finch

Cllr Alvin Finch

35 Anchorite Road, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 5NF

Home mobile: 07392 345917

Work: alvin.finch@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal West
photo of Cllr Susanne Long

Cllr Susanne Long

5 Cedar Grove, KENDAL, Cumbria, LA9 5BL

Home mobile: 07730300939

Work: Susanne.Long@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal West
photo of Cllr Matt Severn

Cllr Matt Severn

Vice-Chairman of the Council

Home mobile: 07794 858017

Work: matt.severn@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Kendal West
photo of Cllr Kevin Lancaster

Cllr Kevin Lancaster

Fellgate, Dowbiggin, Sedbergh, Cumbria, LA10 5LS

Home mobile: 07980 844695

Conservative Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale
photo of Cllr Ian Mitchell

Cllr Ian Mitchell

1 Glebe Fold, Dent, Sedbergh, Cumbria, LA10 5QA

Home mobile: 07530 602234

Work: ian.mitchell@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale
photo of Cllr Suzie Pye

Cllr Suzie Pye

Health, Wellbeing and Poverty Alleviation Portfolio Holder

9 Havera, SEDBERGH, Cumbria, LA10 5HD

Home mobile: 07833 534710

Work: Suzie.Pye@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Sedbergh & Kirkby Lonsdale
photo of Cllr David Webster

Cllr David Webster

Leader of the Labour Group

3 Sands Close, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 9PP

Home: 01229 585884

Home mobile: 07769 903433

Work: david.webster@southlakeland.gov.uk

Labour Ulverston East
photo of Cllr Mark Wilson

Cllr Mark Wilson

7 Park Field, Swarthmoor, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 0HW

Home: 01229 586404

Work: mark.wilson@southlakeland.gov.uk

Labour Ulverston East
photo of Cllr Shirley-Anne Wilson

Cllr Shirley-Anne Wilson

Home: 01229 586404

Work: shirley-anne.wilson@southlakeland.gov.uk

Labour Ulverston East
photo of Cllr Judy Filmore

Cllr Judy Filmore

4 Chittery Lane, ULVERSTON, Cumbria, LA12 7DP

Home mobile: 07917 831062

Work: Judy.Filmore@southlakeland.gov.uk

Green Party Ulverston West
photo of Cllr Helen Irving

Cllr Helen Irving

Shadow Cabinet (Health, Wellbeing and Poverty Alleviation Portfolio)

11 Garden Terrace, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 7DA

Home mobile: 07743 493383

Work: helen.irving@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Ulverston West
photo of Cllr Janette Jenkinson

Cllr Janette Jenkinson

Shadow Cabinet (Customer and Locality Services Portfolio)

Barne House, Broad Dale, Pennington Lane, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 7SE

Home: 01229 585305

Home mobile: 07765 244002

Work: janette.jenkinson@southlakeland.gov.uk

Conservative Ulverston West
photo of Cllr Ben Berry

Cllr Ben Berry

Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, Ambleside Road, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LP

Home mobile: 07881 388042

Conservative Windermere
photo of Cllr Andrew Jarvis

Cllr Andrew Jarvis

Deputy Leader & Finance and Assets Portfolio Holder

70 Windermere Park, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 2ND

Home mobile: 07462 652717

Work: andrew.jarvis@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Windermere
photo of Cllr Dyan Jones

Cllr Dyan Jones

Climate Action and Biodiversity Portfolio Holder

1 Oldfield Road, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 2AZ

Home: 015394 48126

Work mobile: 07467 686884

Work: dyan.jones@southlakeland.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Windermere